Product Review: Emily of Sweet Anthem Perfumes

Preface:

Let me say that I have a love/hate relationship with Sweet Anthem- but not in the way that you may think.  Customer service has always been stellar.  I love the overall design of the packaging and the marketing techniques of Meredith Smith, the owner.  I love the scent descriptions on the website, they always draw me in and the scent combinations are always things out of the ordinary (mention must go to the Alice in Wonderland inspired collection from a few years ago).  What I hate is that so many of Sweet Anthems fragrances just don’t work out for me.  I have tried all three formats, (sprays, oils and solids) and I usually order the fragrance oils because that is just my preference.  Sometimes the scents are gone far too soon from my skin and that, honestly, makes me sad because some of them are so glorious on first whiff.  A lot of the times, these perfumes are totally hit or miss for me and, well, I don’t know what else to say about that.

So this review is for Emily, one of the year-round scents.

When Sweet Anthem announced their Spring timing fragrances, I was all over it.  My order consisted of Hippolyta (in solid perfume), Catherine, Caroline, Emily (in oils), and I was sent Cybele as a gift.

Emily (from Sweet Anthem’s website)

Still she wears her red dress, and paints her toes and twirls. Emily takes it back to old times of honey, oatmeal, yuzu, almond, Turkish mocha, vanilla, coconut, and sandalwood.

Notes: Almond, Honey, Milk, Oatmeal, Sandalwood, Vanilla, Yuzu

About the oil fragrances (from Sweet Anthem’s website)

Our flagship product, we first began perfecting this odd duck of a fragrance format. Containing 40-60% concentrated aromatics, these perfumes are diluted in skin-loving fractionated coconut oil and will wear for nearly 8 hours when applied to clean skin. Presented with roller balls under a silver overshell cap for easy, leak-proof, and portable application.

When I opened this bottle, I was a little unsure of how this scent would play out.  I am not a fan of almond or coconut (I know, why did I buy it then?  For the oatmeal and vanilla…) but was hoping for the best.  The upfront smell of this was simply amazing; it was sweet and smooth, but not cloying.  The Almond and coconut were the standouts initially (Sweet Anthem’s Karen make me realize that I could fall for coconut) and within a few minutes, those two started to fade into a spiced oatmeal sort of scent.  An hour later, I could no longer smell this on my wrists.  If I put my chin to my chest, I could barely smell yuzu.  Roughly 3 hours later, this scent is gone from my skin.  While I like my fragrances close to me, this was a bit too close. I am disappointed in its lack of staying power and strength.

Would I repurchase?: I am on the fence.  The perfume oils are supposed to have the longest wear time.  The eau de parfums are next, with a wear time of 4-5 hours.  Considering that this doesn’t last on me, I doubt that I would repurchase.  On the other hand, I adore this scent.

Have you tried anything from Sweet Anthem?

Leave a Reply

