New for November: Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Skincare

3/20/2013- So I guess that I should have updated everyone on this like I said that I would!  I gave these products away the next month; I just couldn’t take it anymore.  The facial wash & scrub was like cleaning my face with lotion.  While I prefer creamier cleansers (think Origins’ Checks and Balances), I felt like my face was never clean with that product.  In addition, the notion that this it could have been a scrub was boggling, as there was no exfoliating action whatsoever.  The facial mask was too heavily scented for me and again, I didn’t feel like I had a clean face after using it.  For the mask to be mud based, I felt like it was clogging my pores instead of clearing them.  I did not witness any brightening, although I don’t think that I used the products long enough to see those results.  The only thing that I can say to these two products is that I didn’t have my usual winter dry patches- but the other issues outweighed that.

Would I repurchase?  Definitely not.

This month I decided to switch up my skin care routine.  MHS and I were in Target last weekend and I came across Shea Moisture’s Coconut & Hibiscus Facial Wash & Scrub, as well as the Coconut & Hibiscus Facial Mask.  Both products are said to be for brightening and toning, which my skin certainly needs.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

I battle acne and the scarring that comes along with it.  Normally, I have combination skin with an oily t-zone and everything else is normal.  In the winter, I get dry patches in between my eyebrows, under my eyes, and around my lips.  Considering that both of these products contain shea butter, I figured that would help with the moisture.

So, here is what I have been doing since Sunday, Nov. 4, and continue to follow until I finish the products:

  • Cleanse every AM with the Facial Wash & Scrub
  • Tone with witch hazel infused with lavender
  • Moisturize with Kelapo Organic Coconut Oil
  • On M,W, & F evenings, do step 1, then apply the Facial Mask until it dries, the n wash off with warm water
  • Follow steps 2 & 3 from above

Since I am posting this late, I will post my first impressions and pictures after a week of using these products.

-mdp

Leave a Reply

