Product Review: Tasti Kiss Essentials

**This is an honest review of these items and record of my experiences with them. I have purchased all items with my own money, unless otherwise indicated. I have not been asked to do a review of these products, unless otherwise mentioned. -mdp**

Creamy Hair Cream [4 oz., $12]

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Distilled Water, Aloe Vera Juice, Vegetable Glycerin, Coco Butter, Avocado Butter, Castor Oil, Aloe Vera Oil, BTMS, Xanthum Gum, Hemp Seed Oil, Olive Oil, Jojoba Oil, Optiphen, Essential Oil Blend.

Description/Directions: Apply to wet hair alone or with your favorite leave in to seal in moisture or whenever relief is needed from dry brittle hair.

Likes: First and foremost, my hair doesn’t generally like cocoa butter, but I was hoping that things would be different with this product. I used this to do two strand twists on damp hair. When I applied this, it sank into my hair with ease and provided slip for extra detangling. The next morning, my hair was super moisturized, and my hair was soft and fluffy. That evening, I realized that the definition of my twist out might not make it to the next day sue to the softness of my hair. I sprayed water around the circumference of my head, added more CHC (which I really didn’t need by the way), brushed my edges back and tied them down with a scarf. The next day, the CHC had laid down my hair fairly well. Totally hooked.

Dislikes: While nothing on this product claims that it should/would be used for styling, my hair was so soft that there wasn’t really any hold. No biggie, but don’t expect a lot of hold from it.

Customer Service: I have watched Janay’s videos on Youtube (TastiRedbone) for a few years now, and have always admired that she has not been afraid to speak her mind about the bad customer service experiences that she has had with companies. Tasti Kiss Essentials will exceed all of your expectations. I am in PA, and the company is located in CA. I placed my last order on a Friday morning, and it was waiting for me on Tuesday when I arrived home from work. Plus, there is always a small item with the kiss theme in the package, which I think was a nice marketing touch.

Would I repurchase?: Indeed!

Rich Hair Butter [4 oz., $13]

Ingredients: Shea Butter, Coconut Oil, Babassu Oil, Castor Oil, Soybean Oil, Avocado Oil, Olive Oil, Jojoba Oil, Emu Oil, Sweet Orange Essential Oil, Fragrance

Description: n/a as this product is not posted on the website right now

Likes: I have only used this product a few times to seal the ends of my hair. This product did a good job of keeping them moisturized and intact. Normally when I do two strand twists, my ends like to get puffy and unravel, but this helped with that. I am hoping to revisit this product in the cooler months.

Dislikes: Nothing that I can think of thus far.

Customer Service: See above, no additions.

Would I repurchase? Not sure yet, I would like to use the product more before making that decision.

Whipped Shea Butter [4 oz., $8]

Ingredients: Shea Butter, Coconut Oil, Jojoba Oil, Sweet Almond Oil, Vitamin E, Fragrance

Description: Apply to body and hair for added moisture. Best for very dry skin and straight out of the shower so that you can lock in the moisture.

Likes: I purchased these in the scents Tasti Pastri, Vanilla Cream, Strawberry Cream, Sweet POM, and was sent Hawaiian Punch as a bonus. All five scents are awesome; none of them are overly sweet.

The Tasti Pastri smells like cookie dough, despite the name, with a hint of something else that I can’t put my finger on. The Vanilla Cream threw me off at first because I smelled shea butter upon opening the jar. I love vanilla based scents, and I like this one. After putting it on the skin, the vanilla came out and this scent was the second longest lasting of the bunch. The Strawberry Cream is my favorite, sweet strawberries, nothing cloying or artificial, just strawberries and cream. Again, there was an undertone of shea in this one, but not as obvious as in the Vanilla Cream scent. The Sweet POM smells like fresh pomegranate with a slight musky note. This scent is my second favorite. Hawaiian Punch smells just like the drink and this scent was the strongest in the jar and the longest lasting on the skin.

Next, the consistency and texture. This shea butter is pretty tightly packed into a super filled jar, which is great, because I don’t usually see that from whipped butters of any sort. I have seen whipped butters that have a lot of air in the packaging, and when you start to stir the mixture, your container is about halfway full… Not the case here at all, these were filled to the brim. All five were super smooth and glide easily onto the skin. My skin didn’t feel coated and felt moisturized throughout my work day without an additional application. One thing that I noticed, and maybe it is just me, I have yet to use a shea butter blend from a company that doesn’t feel ‘wet’ and ‘cold’ when you apply it. These whipped butters feel ‘dry’, but go onto the skin like… butter! In addition, the weather where I am has been in the 80’s the last few weeks and I have been using these without any greasy/heavy feeling, they absorb pretty well. I am totally impressed with the whipped shea butters.

Dislikes: I wish that the scents lasted longer on the skin. When I first purchased these about a month ago, the Tasti Pastri was gone in about 2 hours, the Vanilla Cream in about 4 hours and the Strawberry Cream in about 3 hours. The Hawaiian Punch had the strongest smell when opening the containers, and also lasted the longest on the skin. I opened these this morning and that scent has faded on the Tasti Pastri, Vanilla Cream and Strawberry Cream significantly. I know that some people are sensitive to scents, so this may not be a sticking point for them. I probably will not purchase more until I use up the ones that I have because I don’t want the scents to fade while they are in standby. If the scents continue to fade, I may just end up using them for my hair.

Customer Service: See above, no additions.

Would I repurchase?: Certainly! There are a ton of scents listed that I would love to try, like the Apple Pie a la Mode. I am slightly hesitant to purchase multiples now because I don’t want the smell to disappear if I don’t use them right away.

Natural Lip Gloss [4mL, $6.95]

Ingredients: Vegetable Glycerin Castor Seed Oil Hydrogenated Castor Oil Beeswax Carnauba Wax Hemp Seed Oil Mica (Color) Flavor

Description: Red Velvet Chocolate Cake Flavored and rich pigmented. Copper tone with red undertones.

Likes: I purchased the Red Velvet gloss and was sent the Coco one as a gift. These two glosses have very good pigmentation; they are almost like lipsticks in a pot. The Red Velvet has a nice, deepened red that isn’t overpowering, while the Coco is a rich brown color. While the color isn’t as deep as a chocolate brown, it certainly smells like Hershey’s.

Dislikes: Before applying these, exfoliate your lips as much as possible. While these are fairly moisturizing, I have to put on some sort of chap stick/balm underneath or color pigment tends to stay in one spot. In addition, if I don’t use a chap stick/balm, I find that these can become a little drying.

Customer Service: Nothing in addition to above.

Would I repurchase?: Yes, I would.

Please check out Miss Smith’s shop at http://tastikiss.bigcartel.com

Leave a Reply

