Product Review (and small haul), Part II: Made by Mieka Olive Oil Soaps

Good morning all,

In the last entry, I told you about the Honey & Oats bar from this line.  Today, I am back to tell you about the Shea Butter bar.

This bar is pretty darned good!  So, let’s start with the basics…  Shea Butter soap ingredients: saponified extra virgin olive oil, purified water, saponified coconut oil, shea butter, lavender essential oil, eucalyptus essential oil.

Ok, the only con that I have for this bar, and it is something that occurs a lot if you use natural soaps, is that if the bar itself gets too much water on it (say you are a bath person and you drop it into the water, then quickly retrieve it), the bar will get… quishy?  I don’t know another word to describe it, but the bar will form a really thick and gooey layer on it.  At first, I was really annoyed by this, but then I started doing this to the bar on purpose to get that thicker coating to make a mask for my face when it was dry.

The pros:  The skin on my body is normally dry, but I get much worse as the weather changes.  I will say that in the month + that I have been using this soap, I haven’t had to add lotion afterwards until about a week ago.  This bar is pretty luxurious on the skin.  I feel bad rinsing this off in the shower so quickly because I feel like I should slather in it, wait a few minutes, then rinse for full benefits.  I have used this to shave my legs, and for me, this is better than shaving creams (or conditioner for the people that do that) because it provides better slip and is extra moisturizing afterwards.  If you are worried about the lavender, eucalyptus, or shea butter smells, that isn’t a problem.  The smell of lavender is very faint, and there isn’t that strong, nutty smell from the shea butter.

Two thumbs up for Made by Mieka and the Shea Butter soap!!!

We went back the City Market last weekend and found Mieka again and she remembered me.  This time, I bought the Creamy Clay soap (I didn’t see the skin deep, but I will eventually order it online) and the Peppermint soap.  I haven’t used either one yet because I am still using the Shea Butter soap, but here are the ingredients:

Creamy Clay (with Shea Butter and Eucalyptus): saponified extra virgin olive oil, purified water, saponified coconut oil, green illite clay, shea butter, eucalyptus essential oil

Peppermint (with Tea Tree and Rosemary): saponified extra virgin olive oil, purified water, saponified coconut oil, peppermint essential oil, tea tree essential oil, rosemary essential oil

I will let you all know the results as I try these two!

-mdp

Leave a Reply

